Twinkle, twinkle: It's T-J Star time again.


Now that the Thanksgiving leftovers are finally gone and Santa's started checking his list, it's time to get going on the 2016 Times-Journal Star.
Once again, we're looking for someone who exemplifies the best of Schoharie County.
Someone like Sarah Goodrich (our 2012 Star), John Radliff (2009), or Adele Hayes (1994).
Awarded every January since 1992, the T-J Star recognizes someone who's positively impacted the community over the past year in ways not necessarily related to their job.
"We rely heavily on nominations," said T-J Editor Patsy Nicosia, who coordinates the award.
"If you know someone we should consider, let us know-and then back it up with facts. There are an awful lot of Stars out there. We really do need help in singling out just one."
Deadline for nominations is 5pm Saturday, December 17, and they can be made in a variety of ways:
--Email them to and put TJ Star in the subject line.
--By phone, 234-2515.
--By fax, 234-7898.
--By mail, PO Box 339, Cobleskill, NY 12043.
Please no nominations on our Facebook page.
Nominations should include the name of the person being nominated and why he or she deserves to be the next T-J Star.
We also need the name of the person doing the nominating as well as their contact information in case we have questions or want any more information.
Twenty-six people have been honored as Stars since we first began the contest in 1992.
Like the others before them, the 2016 Star will be featured in the T-J's first issue of 2017.
Our past T-J Stars:
2015-Donna Lavigne.
2104-Doug Plummer and Garth Roberts.
2103-Nancy Brumaghim.
2012-Sarah Goodrich.
2011-Pete Lopez.
2010-Maggie Jackman Pryor.
2009-John Radliff.
2008-Carol Coltrain.
2007-Eric Stein.
2006-Lester Hendrix.
2005-Mark Eamer.
2004-Jacqui Hauser and Brian Kaiser.
2003-Frances Tripp.
2002-Richard Ball.
2001-Ray Richards.
2000-Sonny Ochs.
1999-Bob Herodes.
1998-Kevin Neary.
1997-Bud Gunzinger.
1996-John Radliff.
1995-Harold Vroman.
1994-Adele Hayes.
1993-Bill Averill.
1992-John Elkan.