Spa elections will be write-in only


By Patsy Nicosia

There will be no candidates from the Village of Sharon on the November ballot.
They’ll all be running as write-ins.
That’s because the village missed the deadline for filing petitions, Mayor Doug Plummer said Thursday.
“We were told yesterday that we were late yesterday,” he said. “And that’s only because we inquired. It’s really distressing.”
That means anyone interested in one of the two trustee seats or the mayor’s job will have to convince voters to write in their name—spelled correctly.
“And inevitably, people always want to put a “b” in Plummer,” Mayor Plummer said.
Mayor Plummer said he will seek re-election.
Also running for their own seats will be Trustees Paul Novko—“It’s just five letters,” Mr. Novko said, and Patty Johnstone.
Though Sharon Springs’ village elections had traditionally been held in June, a few years ago they were moved to November as a way to save on costs and boost turnout.
When Mayor Plummer was first elected in a contested race in 2013, more than 100 people turned out to cast ballots.
Typically, though, 25-30 voters is a big election.
The other two trustees are Deputy Mayor Denise Kelly and Ken Kennedy.
According to information on the Board of Elections site, as of Friday candidates had filed for only a handful of village races.
In Cobleskill, Becky Stanton-Terk is running for re-election as mayor and Lance Rotolo is running for his own two-year trustee seat.
In Middleburgh, Sheryl Adams is running for her own four-year trustee seat, and in Schoharie, Cody Robinson-Bullock, just appointed to fill out an expired term, will be on the ballot for a four-year slot.
Mayor and two two-year posts are up in Richmondville.